Poll: Which Angolan Dish Should I Cook Next?

4 thoughts on “Poll: Which Angolan Dish Should I Cook Next?

  1. Gina says:

    ah – this is SUCH a cool idea! i’ve been vowing to cook my way through my own recipe books one a week but haven’t even gotten around to that! maybe i will abandon that mission entirely and just cook along with you… although (in my defense, also, of not cooking from my very own books) getting hold of any vaguely ‘exotic’ ingredients here in botswana can be rather difficult

    speaking of which – to save you some time looking for recipes when you hit the b’s – when you get to botswana you HAVE to cook seswaa. although it isn’t actually quick to cook, it only contains four ingredients: meat, onion, salt & pepper (water doesn’t actually count as an ingredient, does it?), so it’s pretty easy.

    since i am not supposed to be checking blogs and imparting culinary tips during work time, i won’t bore you with the instructions right away. but let me know if you need them.

    if you want some more options before settling…

    unless you find a source of wild melons or mopani worms in the heart of western europe, when it comes to botswana national cuisine you are otherwise limited to sour sorghum porridge, wild spinach (the morogo kind, otherwise known as rape) or some thin, overseasoned chewy steaks cooked on a charcoal braii (yes, that is how they spell it here).

    happy cooking & eating until the next time we randomly bump onto each other on an overnight train thousands of miles away from home.

    gina

    • Excellent! You should totally cook along with me… I’m sure we can think of some creative local substitutes for exotic ingredients? Thanks so much for the tips on Botswana’s food – that does indeed save me time and effort, and seswaa seems mercifully simple. 🙂 You’re right, our supermarket is fresh out of mopanie worms… 😉

  2. Paula Fourie says:

    So I REALLY wanted you to cook the prawns. I guess you will have to make it when I come visit… 🙂

Leave a Reply

